Monopoly Editions

Australian Edition

Enable images to see an Australian 1985 set

Australian Edition Monopoly has each colour group borrowing its street names from an Australian capital city. Australia has eight capital cities, which is kind of nice when it comes to designing a Monopoly board. Represented are Darwin, Hobart, Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane, Melbourne, Sydney and Canberra. The stations are from Perth, Adelaide, Melbourne and Sydney, and the utilities are the two national communications providers Telecom (now Telstra, though this is still not reflected on newer boards) and Australia Post. The tax square just before Go is Sales Tax and carries a $100 penalty (though [Wholesale] Sales Tax may soon be replaced with a Goods And Services Tax).

Enable images to see an Australian board

Author and editor: Kade "Archer" Hansson; e-mail:

Last updated: Wednesday 4th November 1998